University:

The last few months have been very difficult, but now everything is finally sorted out for university.  After months of phone calls, meetings, assessments and providing evidence I finally have a grant, along with all the support that I will need in my course.  Although I haven’t started the proper course yet, and have only been doing introductory parts of it, it is still evident that the things we fought for will come in very useful throughout the three years that I will be at the university.  I don’t have a huge amount to say in this blog, the main point that I wanted to make is that there is no real way to make this simple – it can be very difficult getting the help and support needed for university.  But I also firmly believe that it is well worth it.  Some universities are very good and services will go through without any hitches, so don’t automatically think that you will have a very hard time getting what you need before you can attend university.  I have already talked in my blogs about how difficult it has been, so there is no need to go in to too much detail here.  The main thing to remember though, if the process is difficult, is that it is worth sticking to it.  For us it seemed that at every turn something new was coming up, that threw-up a whole wave of other problems.  But at no point did I ever feel that I wouldn’t get to university, or that it would be worth quitting, and not going.  In fact I felt the opposite; that because it was so difficult to get there it would be worth perusing even more.  Nothing should be off limits to people who have disabilities, and unfortunately I do know of people who have quit half way through the process, and dropped out of university because of how difficult it was to obtain the support they needed.  I would never have a go at them, or say they had done the wrong thing because everybody obviously have the right to choose what they do in their own life. But it is a pity that they felt they were denied the opportunity to a further education because their disabilities were not catered for.

Obviously I have no idea how I will find the next three years at university – it might be good or it might be bad, to put it simply. But the simple fact that I was able to go, and to get all the help and support that I need, which for a long time it looked as if I would not, feels like an achievement in itself.  I know this blog is very short, but now I am adjusting to university I hope to get back in to the routine of putting one up every week or two.  If there are any particular issue you would like me to talk about please let me know below in the comments or on Twitter or Facebook.

If you need any more help or advice about Asperger`s/Autism or simply want to talk about it check out our free help and advice service ASK-PERGERS? On Twitter https://twitter.com/ASKPERGERS Facebook https://www.facebook.com/ASKPERGERS?ref=hl

And have a look at our books (at the time published under pseudonyms, but we did write them trust us on that!)  http://www.jkp.com/catalogue/author/1762

2 thoughts on “University:

Leave a Reply

