Autism, theft and anxiety …

On Saturday I received a bank statement, and a letter from my bank telling me that their fraud department needed to get in touch with me. They wanted to check if some recent transactions had actually been carried out by me. After looking at my bank statement it became clear that the last five transactions on it were not actually mine. And in fact I had no idea where the money – which amounted to over one thousand pounds – had gone.

Crimes like this are fairly common place, and I wouldn’t normally feel the need to write a blog about something like this, but what did make me want to blog about my experience on Saturday was the fact that the actual crime itself, and any stress or anxiety caused by that, completely paled in to insignificance compared to the stress and anxiety of having to interact with people to get things sorted out. My first thought on seeing that the money was missing was not actually one of concern for what had been taken, it was a feeling of concern and frustration because I knew that even if this were resolved quickly it would still completely ruin my usual Saturday routine. This did turn out to be the case. Me and my Mum decided that the best thing to do was to walk to our local bank and raise the issue with somebody face-to-face so we got ready, and prepared to go out. My anxiety levels rose higher and higher as were getting ready, and walking to the bank. In the back of my head there was a mild anxiety about what would happen to my money, but as I say I assume such crimes happen all the time, and I was pretty confident that I would end up getting the money returned to me. There was still some mild anxiety around this as I wasn’t certain at that point. But that had nothing to do with the rising anxiety and stress. This came solely from the fact that I had no clue what I would need to do, or who I would need to interact with when I reached the bank. Would they be male or female? Young or old? Would we talk in an office? Would they ask me questions I didn’t know the answer to and put me on the spot? I had no clue. I knew that I had no choice but to go to the bank, and in a way I think that helped. There is always an option of course, but I wasn’t going to sit at home and simply let more money be withdrawn from my account. In terms of interaction within the bank it was fairly easy – my Mum did most of the talking – the only challenge being that we had to talk at the counter, and I was keenly aware of people standing behind us. We were advised on what to do and told to return home and call the fraud department immediately. There was an option to use a phone within the bank to do so, but we decided against this. Again it was public, but also I felt it would be impossible to concentrate in a busy environment such as that.

Far from being over, my anxiety levels began to rise even higher as we walked home. I should explain; I don’t speak on the phone, even with family or people I know well. And whenever there is any official business to sort out that can only be dealt with via a phone conversation I give permission for my Mum to speak on my behalf. But as I walked back from the bank I had no clue whether they would need to speak to me, perhaps simply to gain my permission to speak to my Mum, or even if they would insist on talking to me for the entire conversation. It wasn’t just the fact that I might have to speak on the phone, it was the fact that I didn’t know. I didn’t know who I would be speaking to, or what they would be asking me. In the end I did have to speak on the phone, only to answer a few basic questions and give my consent for them to speak to my Mum. This in itself was not an easy experience, but I will go in to more detail in another blog. After that phone conversation everything was resolved. They dealt with it quickly and efficiently and as I say I assume it is something they deal with every day. But the impact of the change of routine, stress and anxiety created on that day are still affecting me even now. I can’t say that it has nothing to do with the money being stolen – that would be silly – but in all honesty I think that is ten percent of the cause. The other ninety percent is to do with uncertainty, social interaction and change of routine.

This is one thing I have always found difficult about my autism; even if I myself react calmly to a situation, and I don’t feel particularly disturbed or distressed by it, there will always be something that comes along with that situation which brings anxiety and stress. I think a lot of people would find it hard to understand how little the theft of the money actually affected me. I assumed even when I saw it was gone that I would get it back, which I have. If you had seen me on Saturday you would have seen somebody who was clearly highly anxious, and no doubt you would have assumed it was due to the theft. But as I say, you would have been wrong.

If you need any more help or advice about Asperger`s/Autism or simply want to talk about it check out our free help and advice service ASK-PERGERS?

Twitter https://twitter.com/ASKPERGERS

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/ASKPERGERS?ref=hl

And have a look at our books (at the time published under pseudonyms, but we did write them trust us on that!)  http://www.jkp.com/catalogue/author/1762

And here`s the link to our new E Book Autism & Animals – the benefits of animals for autistic people https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01GO1N1X6

2 thoughts on “Autism, theft and anxiety …

  1. Oh no!! I feel for you, dear 💐💐. I’m so sorry that happened to you 😖😔. So understandable that it would cause massive anxiety! That happened to my partner and me here in the US last year, too. It’s on the rise, I think. Although we were reimbursed for everything taken, it’s still a nightmare! You have your day planned out, you’re all set to do what you wanted, and boom!–some jerk throws you a curveball like this. I hope it gets resolved soon, if it’s not already! 💞💞

    1. Thanks! Sorry you had the same thing happen. Yep its all sorted out now but it did course a lot of anxiety at the time. Just glad its all been sorted out now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

